Tanka Poetry Evening

Launch of  'From the Middle Country' - the 3rd tanka collection by Noriko Tanaka,translated by Saeko Ogi and Amelia Fielden.


  • Launch speech by Dr.Carol Hayes, ANU
  • Bilingual readings from this collection by Noriko Tanaka and Carol Hayes
  • Musical item: shakuhachi and piano
  • Launch of 'All You Need Is Love’, new Australian tanka anthology edited by Amelia Fielden.
  • Launch speech by award-winning Canberra poet Melinda Smith.
  • Readings of their work by a number of local and Sydney poets
  • Musical item

  Light refreshments will be provided.

  Copies of 'From the Middle Country' and 'All You Need Is Love' will be on sale at special launch price (TBA)

  All welcome. Entry is free for members of Manning Clark House and participating poets. General entry is $10

NORIKO TANAKA : a brief biography
Noriko Tanaka was born in 1967. In 2008 she was awarded the prestigious Nakajo Fumiko prize for tanka poetry. In 2011 Noriko received a special award from the Japan Tanka Poet's Society for her excellent tanka collections. Noriko lectures at Kinki University and Setsunan University. She is a selector and editor of tanka,and belongs to several literary societies in Japan.
      Noriko's publications include four tanka collections,'Doorway to the Sky' (2008), 'Breast Clouds' (2010),'Moon Forest Armada' (2011),'From the Middle Country '(2013) and the books of essays,'An Investigation into Expressions : the Man'yoshu and Contemporary Tanka '(2012) and 'Tanka To Eat’ (2012). 'Doorway to the Sky','Breast Clouds' and 'Tanka to Eat' were also translated into English by the team of Fielden and Ogi.
     Tanka To Eat was launched at Manning Clark House in March 2013.


Updated:  27 November 2018/Responsible Officer:  JI Management Group/Page Contact:  Japan Institute