Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Dr Carol Hayes designated Distinguished Educator at the ANU

The ANU Japan Institute congratulates Deputy Director Dr Carol Hayes on her recent designation as a Distinguished Educator. 

In a recent statement by ANU Vice Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt, he stated that: 

Some of the most important members of our community are our teaching staff, who deliver the programs of which ANU is so proud. I want great teaching at ANU to be as celebrated as much as great research, because both are fundamental to being a world-leading university. That is why I am so pleased to recognise the first six colleagues to be designated Distinguished Educators, for their eminence and sustained exceptional performance in relation to teaching and learning.

The six Distinguished Educators are:

  • Professor Paul Francis – College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
  • Professor Michael Platow – College of Medicine, Biology and Environment
  • Dr Carol Hayes – College of Asia and the Pacific
  • Dr Catherine Frieman – College of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Associate Professor Asmi Woods – College of Law
  • Dr John Minns – College of Arts and Social Sciences 

The title ANU Distinguished Educator is awarded to the University’s most outstanding leaders in teaching and learning, in recognition of their eminence and sustained exceptional performance. ANU Distinguished Educators are appointed as members of the new ANU Institute of Innovation in Higher Education with the purpose of helping to lead, at a strategic level, innovation in education within the University, and participate in the Institute’s activities.

Updated:  21 February, 2013/Responsible Officer:  JI Management Group/Page Contact:  Japan Institute