Directors & executive


Professor Veronica L. Taylor

(School of Regulation, Justice and Diplomacy)

Veronica Taylor is Professor of Law and Regulation at ANU in the School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet) and from 2018, Director of the ANU Japan Institute. She previously served as Dean of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific. Prior to joining ANU in 2010 she was Director of the Asian Law Center at the University of Washington, Seattle and Chair of the American Advisory Committee for the Japan Foundation. Her research focusses on rule of law promotion in Asia. 

Deputy director

Dr Carol Hayes

(School of Culture, History & Language)

Japanese language; Taisho poet Hagiwara Sakutaro and the ‘modernist’ movement in Japan; Japanese postwar literature and film.

Japan Institute executive 2013-2015

Dr Tomoko Akami

(School of Culture, History & Language)International Relations; Asian History; Historical Studies; Government And Politics Of Asia And The Pacific; Political Theory And Political Philosophy

Dr Shiro Armstrong

(Crawford School of Public Policy)

The Japanese and Chinese economy; Japan-China economic relations; East Asia regional economy 

Associate Professor Simon Avenell

(School of Culture, History, and Language)

Modern Japanese history; civic activism, civil society, and state-society relations in contemporary Japan; political thought in contemporary Japan; environmental history and environmentalism in contemporary Japan; transnational aspects of contemporary Japanese history; Japan in East Asia.

Mr Shun Ikeda

(School of Culture, History and Language)

 Japanese language education, culture and society; comparative education in Asia and in socio-linguistics (language policy and planning)

Associate Professor Duck-Young Lee

(School of Culture, History & Language)

Japanese-Korean linguistics; discourse analysis; unique features of spoken language; Japanese language and education; language and culture in Korean diaspora in Australia

Professor Tessa Morris-Suzuki

Professor of Japanese History, Convener of Pacific and Asian History, School of Culture, History & Language

Updated:  27 November 2018/Responsible Officer:  JI Management Group/Page Contact:  Japan Institute